Tangier…the Last Days of the Moroccan Adventure…

Well, sadly, we leave Morocco tomorrow. I cried leaving this country the last time, and no doubt will again tomorrow.

Tangier has been a very pleasant surprise. My last visit to this city was 34 years ago, so in that time it has changed irrevocably….a whole new city having sprung up…the Medina though, remains virtually unchanged, I love that fact!

As we’ve traveled north the landscape has changed too. Now we have green grass whereas further south what grass there was, if any, was parched brown. The sky is less blue…a cloud of what appeared to be smog being blown in from the north. But, details aside, there does seem to be a vibrancy about the city, and I’ve got to say, I like it!

The Medina has all the temptations that are usually present, but, as is also true, there are new delights!!! If one considers coming here, bring an empty suitcase, the old adage “half the clothing and twice as much money”, never truer!!!

I’m still enamoured of this country, and hope to return…..with that empty suitcase!!!

Author: Sue Birchall

Travelling adventures are my happy place....currently wandering in SE Asia..... Instagram: sue_birchall

Leave a comment