Singapore Airport

Well, whatever I didn’t spend up til now will surely be swallowed over my 6-hour wait here!! The size of a small city with about as many amusements, this airport is legendary.

My feet feeling somewhat better today, I’ve been up for a bit of strolling. A cheerful surprise was a butterfly garden!! Dozens of the pretty things feeding and fluttering…and (people) free to come and go at will.

Next came a wander round the duty free shops. I was always under the impression that ‘duty-free’ meant just that….free of the taxes we pay day-to-day…I’m wiser now 😳😆 NZ$59 for a bottle of kiwi wine, a ‘special’ price of $62 for 3x pairs of undies….and the actual one that I did buy, NZ$36.43 for a Mojito!!!! I’m currently waiting for the ice to melt because I’m not leaving behind a DROP of that!!! I’ll probably even eat the mint…..

There’s a theatre featuring 24 hour movies. Checked…nothing that will quite work for me, and I have a movie fest of 11 hours coming up, so possibly wait for those choices. I think that goes for food as well considering the prices!

My flight not even on the board yet, my straws soggy and I’ve just been offered iced water ( my expression must have conveyed my feeling about the price of the mojito 😳), so I guess it’s time for another wander…the nap-room perhaps 😆

Author: Sue Birchall

Travelling adventures are my happy place....currently wandering in SE Asia..... Instagram: sue_birchall

Leave a comment