One (Sunday) Night in Bangkok…

Khao San tonight, after a bit of pool playing in the ‘burbs’ was intense! Manic actually. Maximum decibel level at every bar. Each trying to outdo the next. The seemingly underage ( I may be exaggerating) young people squeezing the passers-by between them, hawking their wares….laughing gas, 2 for 1 beers, bucket of beer, half-price cocktails, anything to get the punter buying. Music throbbing, the intention being to work the crowd into a frenzy….maybe???

Then to the relative quiet of Happy Bar. The owner (from what I’ve gathered) remembering our drinks and eager to please. The same Asian guy singing the same old tired songs, badly. Hipster bar guy looking groovy and the head man, topless, working in unison when a party of 8 or so left….wiping tables, arranging stools, making ready for the next wave….

Escaping to Rambuttri to walk home. Sanity! Peaceful almost….tuneful! Then the Rambuttri extension…lovely. Stalls still operating, families having dinner, people talking! Music playing.

I get it, the madness. But maybe it’s age that prevents me from enjoying it anymore. I prefer the calm and moderate to the pulsating beat of music so loud I can’t think, and actually, although I appreciate the majority of music genres, nothing beats trip-hop!! 😎😎

Author: Sue Birchall

Travelling adventures are my happy place....currently wandering in SE Asia..... Instagram: sue_birchall

Leave a comment