A Breath of Fresh Mountain Air…

I only managed one foray into the Medina in Fes….the foot problem thwarting anything more.

Fes Medina is notorious for being completely bewildering. It’s little wonder there are a continuing stream of guided walking tours being hosted, as there are a myriad of alleys, off alleys, off alleys….Had I been more able to while away several hours on my feet, I certainly would have!! Beguiling beyond words!

Fes is much bigger than I imagined….both the old and the new city, and quite sprawling, the two being a number of kilometres apart. Jen made a trip to the supermarket in the new town….a 5km round trip, while I lounged on the roof terrace ( needing to keep my feet elevated 😁)

Then it was time to move on….to the mountains, and Chefchaouan, the town that appears to be everyone’s favourite! Another 3 hours on a bus.

I enjoyed noticing a few Moroccan design details on the way out of town…

It was, by and large, an uninteresting landscape until we began climbing. With the hill country began plantations of olives, which continued the entire way. Very orderly, and very pretty.

As we were having 5 days in Chefchaouan, we’d booked an two-bedroom apartment with all the necessaries…..kitchen, washing machine etc and it’s turned out to be perfect.

And today, I got to see the Medina!! Chefchaouan is known as the ‘Blue Pearl’ of Morocco due to the blue wash that is used predominantly for the buildings of the old town. I had seen the colour used in other parts of the city, but go beyond the gates of the Medina, and it is completely enchanting! The blue and white buildings and the rise and fall of the cobbled lanes, the abundance of trees and potted plants, and the pleasant disposition of the traders, to say nothing of the less-touristy prices, make Chefchaouan altogether a must-visit!

We have just one more day to enjoy this gorgeous mountain town, and we intend to!!!

Author: Sue Birchall

Travelling adventures are my happy place....currently wandering in SE Asia..... Instagram: sue_birchall

Leave a comment