Brisbane…The Last Leg

My arrival in Brissy was early morning and confusion-driven! Again, the lack of sleep and multiple time-zone thing had me befuddled. My baggage had been checked through from Chiang Mai so I swear it was first- on, last-off, giving me the impression, as I waited, forever, for it to appear, that it had gone to Russia. It hadn’t, of course! Once I’d gotten it, and been signalled to take the exit, as I headed for the outside I was hoping that Tez had managed to get into her car, and was there to pick me up….(I’d had a message re the situation)….she wasn’t 🥹 The keys were still locked in the car…..A taxi, it had to be.

It soon became apparent that there would have to be a period of sleep, so after a shower and sustenance, I crashed (the only appropriate word for it) for a couple of hours.

Upon waking I found Tez had gotten the key drama sorted, so we were soon off to Will’s house….The afternoon and evening were filled with laughter and pool, it was lovely!

The next day haircuts were on the agenda. Tez had booked appointments for her and I as I’d mentioned I was desperate after 2 months of mad hair!! I have the odd ‘long-hair fantasy’ but the reality of actually letting it get to that stage is an impossibility 😫 After getting over the shock of the price of the haircuts, we were back to Will’s for Skipbo and more pool. We did talk about going out and actually doing some stuff, but in the end….well, why?….It was just really nice hanging out together.

Before I knew it the time had come to get back on another plane….the end of this epic journey was nigh! It’s been an amazing seven weeks! Thank you world, and all my wonderful hosts 💚

Author: Sue Birchall

Travelling adventures are my happy place....currently wandering in SE Asia..... Instagram: sue_birchall

Leave a comment