The Continuation….

Day 4 began from Arzua, a town famous for its cheese….which, by the way, was absolutely delicious.

We had spent the night in a hostel packed with pilgrims. Our room alone I reckoned to have at least two dozen sets of bunks, and every one of them occupied! This town was a major stop, apparently 😵‍💫

Before the hoards…..(half the room)

I’ve discovered at least two truths on this wee journey thus far…..I have lost my inhibitions about being naked in front of strangers (women), and these ‘travel’ towels that take up no space are absolute rubbish!! I hope more will become clear 🤔

We set off in the dark, at this point I will say that I bought, in NZ, a head-torch for this very purpose…..it’s in my luggage that goes before me to the next stop and hasn’t been on my head yet!!! 🙄

There had been rain through the night, so the trail was dewy fresh and a little muddy underfoot, but quite pleasant. Todays distance was to be 15kms, so we set off at a good pace, making at least 5 before breakfast.

Arzua, early morning….

It’s amazing the amount of people walking this trail. Young and old, men and women, fast and slow…. I’ve got to say I prefer the quieter moments between the crowds, so often just stand to the side and let people pass…Today, Jen and I kept pace, and together let the hoards go by.

Home tonight was Santa Irene….a quieter room but plagued by mosquitoes, bad enough to have to sleep with one’s head under the sheet….hellish in fact!!! We forged on the next day spotty and itchy…..

I had completely had enough at the end of the next 17kms….and then…the albergue was closed, NOT OPERATING closed!! Impressed, I was not! Jen though, was fazed only momentarily, and left me to find where we were actually meant to be. Hooray for her….only sometime later I was beginning to become a little perturbed….

It all worked out in the end 🤗 The actual albergue was relatively close by, but unfortunately Jen had found the uphill AND steps route initially. Lucky me to miss that one!!!

Friday, our last day with just 5kms to go. Jen set off with the sparrows to meet a couple of friends before they left town, and I began the day at a leisurely 7am. Once I ditched my suitcase after lugging it up a small mountain, and a well-deserved coffee, I started the last stretch. After yesterday’s effort of 17, feeling like 27, today’s mileage was an easy stroll, and I had arrived in Santiago within 30 minutes! It took considerably longer to reach the cathedral, and Jen’s welcome, however!

And it was a fabulous welcome! Yay, I’ve done it!

Author: Sue Birchall

Travelling adventures are my happy place....currently wandering in SE Asia..... Instagram: sue_birchall

Leave a comment